Direction

It’s nice having a feeling that I know where I’m going, even if there’s uncertainty in the destination. This could have been what I was lacking the past couple of days. When not given enough direction, I think it’s possible to do more harm than good. This is because you can devote all this time on a piece of work when it’s not quite on the right track.

The direction can be something extraordinarily simple, such as writing up the next meeting’s agenda. This focussed what I needed to do. It gave me boundaries, which I felt I did not have for the past couple of days.

I am learning the tasks required of me one-by-one, as the tasks pop up. It’s slightly different to doing my own research, as I have a general plan of what I need to do after I complete a portion of work. I feel that research is familiar to me, whereas this role expects me to be ready for whatever comes. It’s really interesting though.

Leave a Reply

