The hurdle of starting

I didn’t think I would have this problem, but there it is.

There is definitely a feeling of satisfaction that comes with completing a significant task. The wait for the result is hard, but only when there’s nothing else to fill the day with.

Right now I find daunting the thought of writing a piece over 2.5 months. I know where to start, but I don’t know what to start with. I can start with the things that I already know, and fill in the blanks about the other details later on. Things I already have information on like CVs, a budget, budget justifications, statistical information. Things that will take time to format according to the requirements, requirements that are not 100% available yet.

I just don’t want to go down a particular path and realise too late that it wasn’t what people wanted. I also don’t know, at this point, who are the right people to talk to about what they want.

Anyway. I asked a friend of mine what are the biggest problems in a field he was familiar with, that prevents people from doing the job. Apparently he doesn’t like being asked that type of question—the answer would be too complex and too voluminous. I will assume that other people are the same way, I suppose that it is too academic, too open-ended and not a very practical question. I wonder what type of conversations people would respond to, to answer such a question?

Leave a Reply

